I drove up to Montana this week to visit my folks and work on the Sprinter.  My dad has lots of wood working tools and I thought it would be a good opportunity to spend a little time with my parents and try my hand at customizing the Van.

First I had to remove all the side panels.

Then I cut up pieces of foam and filled all the spaces.

In the larger spaces and on the roof, I used guerilla tape to hold the foam in place.  I wrapped the panels in a thick fabric and screwed them back in place.

I didn’t have panels for the roof so I bought  1/8 inch sheets of  mesonite and I’m cutting out pieces.  The hard part has been trying to get the screws in without getting them all tangled up in the fabric.  This is much more difficult than I thought, but Dang at custom vans in Salt Lake wanted to charge me $4500 so I guess it’s worth it.  I’m hoping to get the bed and bike storage built before I come home.

-k